Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

Des Moines Regional Office

Meet Our Leadership Team


Tracie Pinkston 

Director: Tracie Pinkston

As the Director of the Veterans Benefits Administration's (VBA) Des Moines Regional Office, Tracie establishes policies and procedures consistent with VA guidelines, provides executive leadership and direction to approximately 200 employees, manages available financial and human capital resources, directs programs for quality control in operations, as well as actively participates in outreach efforts in Iowa Veteran communities.

Prior to this appointment, Tracie served as Assistant Director at the Phoenix Regional Office from November 2019. She shared responsibility for the effective and efficient direction, control, and operation of benefits delivery for Veterans and dependents residing in Arizona. 

Tracie began her VA career as a work study under the Student Career Experience Program as a Program Support Assistant in the Phoenix National Call Center in 2008. She transferred to the Support Services Division (SSD) under SCEP as an Accountant and held numerous positions increasing in responsibility within SSD at the Phoenix Regional Office. She moved through the ranks from Supervisory Financial Administrative Specialist, Assistant SSD Chief, and into the Support Services Chief position in 2018 where she was responsible for overseeing the operations of finance and administrative programs and serving as an advisor to the directors on all phases of support functions for the Phoenix and Albuquerque Regional Offices, Pacific District Office and Denver Human Resources Center.

During her time in SSD, she also completed several details at VA Central Office in Washington, DC. Tracie served as a member of the Support Services Council which primarily served as a liaison between regional offices and Central Office, providing national strategic planning and change management for SSD.

Tracie is originally from Tulsa, OK. She holds a Bachelor of Science Degree in Business Finance from the University of Phoenix, and enjoys spending her leisure time with her family, traveling, and supporting her children’s athletics.

 VSCM Rhodes

Veterans Service Center Manager: Heidi Rhodes

Heidi Rhodes was appointed to as the Veterans Service Center Manager of the Des Moines Regional Office in November of 2022. Heidi is responsible for overseeing payment of compensation and pension annual benefits to Veterans and their families in the state of Iowa. Prior to her current position, Heidi served as the VA Officer in Charge at the Pittsburgh Regional Office’s Germany BDD Office. Prior to her assignment in Germany, she served as a Coach at the Nashville Regional Office. She started with the VA as a Veterans Service Representative at the Columbia Regional Office. In 2000 Heidi began her career assisting Veterans with the Veterans Service Organization, Military Order of the Purple Heart.

Heidi is a 2015 graduate of the Leadership Enhancement and Development (LEAD) program and a 2018 graduate of the Leadership Enrichment and Progression (LEAP) program. She holds a Bachelor of Arts in Women’s Studies from the University of South Carolina. She resides in Iowa with her wife, two children, and two dogs.


Veteran Readiness and Employment Officer: Randal Beyer

Randy Beyer started this position in January 2011. He began his VA career as Vocational Rehabilitation Counselor in Lincoln, Neb., in 2004. In 2007, he transferred to the Fort Harrison RO to work as a Vocational Rehabilitation Counselor.

Kathleen Taylor 

Support Services Chief: Kathleen Taylor

Kathleen Taylor joined the Department of Veteran Affairs in August 2004 as a Management Analyst at the Reno Regional Office. Prior to her assignment to Des Moines in June 2014, she was the Support Services Division Chief at the Boise Regional Office. Kathleen earned Master of Arts degree in political science from the University of Nevada, Reno in 2003.