
State Fees and Charges Deviations Change Sheet 
 
 
 

Date Change 

August 13, 2020 Georgia (GA) and Florida (FL):   Add “intangible tax” as an 
allowable fee 

  

  

 
 



The following table details the current allowable state and territory fees and charges deviations (exceptions) from fees 
normally considered unallowable. Please contact your Regional Loan Center with any questions you may have. 
Current as of August 13, 2020. 

States Exception1 Exception2 Exception3 Exception4 Exception5 Exception6 

AL 
Closing 
Protection Letter 
$50.00 

Redemption Bond is 
NOT allowed 

Wood destroying insect 
(pest) inspection fee may 
be paid by Veterans 

   

AK 

Alaska Housing  Documented tax on     
Delegation and  services, to include 
Commitment  services provided by 
Fee: .5% of loan  appraiser 
amount  

AR 
Copies of 
Restrictions UCC Search 

Close-up 
Fee: Brings Abstract 
Up To Date 

$25 Closing 
Protection Letter Tax Report 

Final Closeout: Final 
Recording Search After 
Closing 

AR 
  (Continued) 

Real Estate Wood destroying     
Transfer Tax of 
$3.30 Per 
Thousand 

insect (pest) 
inspection fee may be 
paid by Veterans 

AZ 

Wood 
destroying 
insect (pest) 
inspection fee 
may be paid by 
Veterans 

     

CA 

Interest accrual Wood destroying     
can begin from insect (pest) 
the 1st business inspection fee may be 
day preceding paid by Veterans 
the settlement/  
disbursement  
date  

CT 
Interthinx 
DISSCO Fraud 
Report: $25 

     



States Exception1 Exception2 Exception3 Exception4 Exception5 Exception6 

DE 
Closing 
Protection 
Letter: $125 

Interthinx DISSCO 
Fraud Report: $25 

Attorney Fee: 
No Limit    

FL 
Closing 
Protection Letter 
$50.00 

Wood destroying 
insect (pest) 
inspection fee may be 
paid by Veterans 

 Intangible Tax 

   

GA 

Georgia 
Residential 
Mortgage Fee: 
$10 

 Intangible Tax 

    

HI 

Homeowner's 
Association 
Transfer Fee for 
Condominium 
Property Regime 
Loans 

     

IA 

Title Insurance Processing Costs for     
Premium under Participation in Iowa 
Iowa Title Mortgage Credit 
Guaranty Certificate Program: 
Program: $110 $200 
purchase loans,  
$90 refinancing  
loans  

IL Title Insurance 
Policy Fee: $3.00 

Processing Costs for 
Participation in 
Illinois Mortgage 
Credit Certificate 
Program: $500 

Closing/ Settlement 
Fee: $175 

 
Attorney Fee: no 
limit 

Closing Protection 
Letter is required 
by law 

  

IN 
Title Insurance 
Enforcement 
Fund: $5 

Closing Protection 
Letter: $35 

Interthinx DISSCO 
Fraud Report: $25  

  



States Exception1 Exception2 Exception3 Exception4 Exception5 Exception6 
LA Effective March 

6, 2014, VA will 
allow Veterans 
to pay the 
actual cost of 
valid title 
charges on 
HUD lines 

Recording 
Release Fee on 
Refi’s 

Orleans Parish 
Document fee on 
Refi’s 

Flood Elevation 
Fee 

Wood 
destroying 
insect (pest) 
inspection fee 
may be paid by 
Veterans 

 

1101-1107 
(normal 
unallowable 
fees apply 
toward the 1% 
fee threshold). 
Previously, LA 
limited the total 
title and 
insurance 
charges on 
HUD lines 
1101-1107 to 
1% of the loan 
amount. 

MA 
Municipal Lien 
Certifications: 
$250 

Interthinx DISSCO 
Fraud Report: $25 

Attorney Fee: No 
Limit 

   

ME 
Interthinx      
DISSCO Fraud 
Report: $25 

MI 
Interthinx 
DISSCO Fraud 
Report: $25 

     



 
States Exception1 Exception2 Exception3 Exception4 Exception5 Exception6 

MN 
Conservation Fee 
in "Metropolitan" 
Counties: $10.00 

MN-%150k tax 
exclusion for Vets 
with serv. Conn. 
Disab. Of 70+%, and 
a $300k exclusion if 
you are 100% and 

    

MS 
Closing Protection Wood destroying 

    Letter insect (pest) inspection 

$50.00 fee may be paid by 
Veterans 

NH Interthinx DISSCO 
Fraud Report: $25      

NJ 
Closing Protection 
Letter: $75 

Interthinx DISSCO 
Fraud Report: $25 

Attorney Fee: No 
Limit    

NY 

CEMA Fee: 

Title Insurance 
Endorsement: $50 

Equalization Charge: 
$125 

253 Affidavit: 
$100 

Interthinx 
DISSCO Fraud 
Report: $25 

Attorney Fee: No Limit 
Amount varies, 
but must be 
designated on 
HUD-1 

OH 
Closing Protection 
Letter: $40 

Interthinx DISSCO 
Fraud Report: $25     

OK 

Wood destroying 
insect (pest) 
inspection fee may 
be paid by Veterans 

     

PA 
Closing Protection 
Letter: $125 

Interthinx DISSCO 
Fraud Report: $25     



States Exception1 Exception2 Exception3 Exception4 Exception5 Exception6 
PR 

(Puerto 
Rico) 

Mortgage Release 
Fee for 
Refinances: 1% of 
Loan Amount per 
Release 

 
Duplicate of Notary 
Fees for 
cancellations 
(exception #5) 

 
*** Notaries in PR 
are attorneys, so 
you may see the 
fee listed as 
either. 

Notary fees for 
authorization of 
an instrument 
that does not 
exceed 
$10,000: $150 

Notary fees for 
authorization of an 
instrument that 
exceeds $10,000 but 
does not exceed 
$5,000,000: 1% of 
loan amount 

Notary fee when 
one party 
executes more 
than one public 
instrument in the 
same transaction 
before the same 
Notary: Sum of 
notarial fees shall 
not exceed 1% of 
the loan amount 
of higher value 
(existing newly 
built and 
refinancing loans) 

Notary fees for 
mortgage 
cancellations on 
refinancing: 1% 
of loan amount 
(face value, not 
current balance) 

0.5% or $250 – 
whichever is greater – 
for federal loan 
programs. 

PR 
(Puerto 

Rico) 
 

(Continued) 

Mileage for Wood destroying     
appraisers @ insect (pest) 
$0.45 per mile 
located over 15 
miles from the 
appraiser’s place of 
business (for 
appraisals and 
repair inspections). 

inspection fee may 
be 
paid by Veterans 

RI 

Municipal Lien 
Certifications: 
$250 

Interthinx DISSCO 
Fraud Report: $25 

    

SD 

South Dakota- 
Appraisers 
charge either 4% or 
6% state tax 
on appraisals and 
inspections. We 
allow 4%, 6%, 
and 0% to be 
charged. 

     



States Exception1 Exception2 Exception3 Exception4 Exception5 Exception6 

TX 

Participation Fee 
on Texas 
Veterans 
Housing 
Assistance 
Program (VHAP) 
Loans: 1% of 
loan 
amount 

Housing Quality 
Standards Fee on 
VHAP Loans: $75 

Attorney Fee 
(Refinances): $100 

Title Policy 
Recoupment Fee 
Charge 

$25 Escrow Fee 
on Refinance 
Loans 

Title Policy Guaranty 
Fee 

TX 
(Continued) 

Tax Certificates: 
$10 Per 
Taxing 
Authority on 
Refi Loans 

Elevation Certificate 
for Flood Insurance Tax deletion fee 

Environmental 
Protection Lien 
Endorsement 

Wood 
destroying 
insect (pest) 
inspection fee 
may be paid by 
Veterans 

 

VA 
Title Examination      
Fee: 1% of Loan 
amount 

U.S. Virgin 
Islands 

Wood 
destroying 

     

insect (pest) 
inspection fee 
may be paid by 
Veterans 

VT 
Interthinx 
DISSCO Fraud 
Report: $25 

     

WV 
Title Examination 
Fee: 1% of loan 
amount 

     

 


