Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.
eBenefits Access Your VA & DoDo Benefits 24-7

Education and Training

GI Bill Resident Rate Requirements

Section 417 of Public Law 114-315 requires VA to disapprove programs of education for payment of benefits under the Post-9/11 GI Bill and Montgomery GI Bill-Active Duty at public Institutions of Higher Learning (IHLs) if the school charges qualifying Veterans and dependents tuition and fees in excess of the rate for resident students for terms beginning after July 1, 2017.

To remain approved for VA’s GI Bill programs, schools must charge in-state tuition and fee amounts to “covered individuals.” A covered individual is defined as:

  • A Veteran who lives in the state where the IHL is located (regardless of his/her formal state of residence) and enrolls in the school within three years of discharge from a period of active duty service of 90 days or more.
  • An individual using transferred benefits who lives in the state where the IHL is located (regardless of his/her formal state of residence) and enrolls in the school within three years of the transferor’s discharge from a period of active duty service of 90 days or more.
  • Anyone described above while he or she remains continuously enrolled (other than during regularly scheduled breaks between courses, semesters, or terms) at the same school. The person so described must have enrolled in the school prior to the expiration of the three year period following discharge or release as described above and must be using educational benefits under either chapter 30 or chapter 33, of title 38, United States Code.
  • Anyone using transferred Post-9/11 GI Bill benefits who lives in the state where the IHL is located and the transferor is a member of the uniformed service who is serving on active duty.
  • Anyone using benefits under the Marine Gunnery Sergeant John David Fry Scholarship who lives in the state where the IHL is located (regardless of his/her formal state of residence).

The in-state tuition provisions in Section 417 do not apply to those individuals on active duty using benefits under the Post-9/11 GI Bill and Montgomery GI Bill-Active Duty.

Public IHLs must offer in-state tuition and fees to all covered individuals with Post-9/11 GI Bill and Montgomery GI Bill - Active Duty (MGIB - AD) benefits in order for programs to remain approved for GI Bill benefits for terms beginning after July 1, 2017. After July 1, 2017, VA will not issue payments for any students eligible for the Post-9/11 GI Bill or the MGIB-AD until the school becomes fully compliant. These requirements ensure our nation’s recently discharged Veterans, and their eligible family members, will not bear the cost of out-of-state charges while using their well-deserved education benefits.

Am I eligible for the resident rate for tuition and fees?

It depends on your school's policy and rules:

  • By law, schools are allowed to have additional requirements that must be met in order for a “covered individual” to be charged the resident rate for tuition and fees.
  • Also, some schools grant the resident rates to students with military connections (current or former member of the Armed Forces, or dependents of current or former members of the Armed Forces) regardless of whether they are “covered individuals.”

Therefore, you should contact your school to learn more about their rules and requirements for charging tuition and fees. Your school will review your particular situation and determine if you will be charged the resident rate. You may access the contact information for your school and search by state or territory.

If, after discussing this matter with your school, you believe the school incorrectly intends to charge or has charged you more than the resident rate, you should submit a complaint into the GI Bill Feedback System. Please include details as to why you believe either you or your beneficiary has been incorrectly charged out of state tuition. Our Complaint Team will review the case and take appropriate action.

Is my state or school compliant with the GI Bill Resident Rate Requirements?

The map below indicates which states and schools are currently compliant with the requirements in Section 417. Please check back for an up-to-date status of your school/state!

417 map


Alabama, Alaska, American Somoa, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York, Nevada, North Mariana Islands, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virgin Islands, and Virginia.

Partially Compliant

The schools listed below are compliant with requirements in Section 417:

University of California-Berkeley, University of California-Davis, University of California-Davis Ext, University of California-Irvine, University of California-Irvine Ext, University of California-Los Angeles, University of California-Los Angeles Ext, University of California-Merced, University of California-Riverside, University of California-San Diego, University of California-San Diego Ext, University of California-San Francisco, University of California-Santa Barbara and University of California-Santa Cruz.

Asnuntuck Community College, Capital Community College, Central Connecticut State University, Charter Oak State College, Eastern Connecticut State University, Gateway Community College, Housatonic Community College, Manchester Community College, Middlesex Community College, Naugatuck Valley Community College, Northwestern CT Community College, Norwalk Community College, Quinebaug Valley Community College, Southern Connecticut State University, Three Rivers Community College, Tunxis Community College, and Western Connecticut State University.

Allegany College of Maryland, Anne Arundel Community College,Baltimore City Community College, Bowie State University, Carroll Community College, Cecil College, Chesapeake College, Community College of Baltimore County Catonsville, Community College of Baltimore County Dundalk, Community College of Baltimore County Essex, Coppin State University, Frederick Community College, Frostburg State University, Howard Community College, Garrett College, Hagerstown Community College, Montgomery College, St. Mary’s College of Maryland, Salisbury University, Towson University, University of Baltimore, University of Maryland - Eastern Shore, University of Maryland - Baltimore, University of Maryland - University College and Wor-Wic Community College.

Blue Mountain Community College, Central Oregon Community College, Chemeketa Community College, Clackamas Community College, Clatsop Community College, Columbia Gorge Community College, Eastern Oregon University, Klamath Community College, Lane Community College, Linn-Benton Community College, Mt. Hood Community College, Oregon Institute of Technology, Portland Community College, Rogue Community College, Southern Oregon University, Southwestern Oregon Community College, Tillamook Bay Community College, Treasure Valley Community College, Umpqua Community College, University of Oregon and Western Oregon University.

Casper College, Laramie County Community College, Sheridan College, University of Wyoming and Western Wyoming Community College.


Oklahoma, New Jersey, North Carolina, Washington, West Virginia, and Wisconsin.